When you were young

I first got into graphic design years ago when I was in elementary school and spending all my hours on the internet(z). Through all the forums and online communities I participated in, I slowly developed a knack and affinity for making art with pen tools and gradients. However, I was never a very good hand artist, and this bugged me whenever I waded through the ocean of masterpieces on DA and GaiaOnline (where good CG art could be very e-valuable!).  At the age of about 11 or 12 13, I got this idea in my head that if I got a tablet, I too could somehow magically create my own smooth-Flash-lined drawings.

Lucky for me, I nudged and hinted at my family, and one Christmas, I got my tablet. Unfortunately I soon discovered that no, simply placing the 499-more-pressure-levels-than-you-would-ever-need pen on the trackpad would not give my hand a Picasso-esque mind of its own. One of these days I should dig out the first tablet drawing I ever did.. (if I recall it was a *very* accurate caricature of myself)

Today, I pulled out and dusted off my tablet, just to discover I still haven’t improved much. Conclusion: Must stick to sharpies and overdramatic photoshop effects to make my work look semi-decent.

Yes, it is indeed this epic-looking in real life.

Click on the thumbnails to see the large versions in full detail.

OMG TREES

Note the skulls.

Yes, it does say "blah blah blah blah."

Their arms are that long so that you don't confuse them with T-rexes*.

If my work sparked your curiosity, it’s supposed to represent a “striking image” from Seamus Heaney’s poem “A Kite for Michael and Christopher”. No, I won’t provide you a link.

*See example here:

Leave a Reply

